Notification

Latest Topics
<  Producing equipment  |   Page 1 of 1 | Jump To >> |
Ableton Live and its synths
d4chris
PostPosted: 18 May 2010 - 17:51:37 (785)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Hi guys,

I'm just starting to learn all about producing and stuff, and I think I already made a good progress.

All that I own so far is the Ableton Live Suite 8 and you probably know that its got only 2 synths that I feel can actually be used in electronic music (except for soundeffects and stuff, but I rather mean the basic stuff: Basslines, pads, leads and stabs):
Analog and Operator.
So this is all I used so far and while I did one or another tutorial I kinda felt lost because I didn't get the sound I wanted, like the guy in the vid did with his ... (place famous commercial synth here)

Now my questions: Do you think those 2 are good enough to simply rely on them or should I rather look out for another one?

I thought of buying either Sylenth1 or Vanguard, I"m not really a fan of just using samples like Nexus does
Synergize
PostPosted: 18 May 2010 - 18:30:19 (812)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

go with Sylenth1

while vanguard has its uses, the other is far more powerful and doesnt leave a metallic sound to most of the sounds.

Lydhus
PostPosted: 18 May 2010 - 20:49:54 (909)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

here is a tip that could sound stupid, but thrust me on it:
A few or lesser synths you have, more creative you will become, and in the end, a whole lot better producer.

Lydhus aka Sinfour | Issues | Pure Touch | White Penguin
Alx_losy
PostPosted: 19 May 2010 - 16:26:41 (726)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Lydhus wrote:
here is a tip that could sound stupid, but thrust me on it:
A few or lesser synths you have, more creative you will become, and in the end, a whole lot better producer.

In the beginning, I fully agree.
Alx_losy If the cat is out of the bag, what can you do?!
d4chris
PostPosted: 20 May 2010 - 03:48:47 (200)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member