Events
Notification

Latest Topics
<  How do I dj?  |   Page 1 of 2 | Jump To >> | Goto page 1, 2  Next
Advanced Mixing Techniques
elfenelf
PostPosted: 12 March 2009 - 09:31:06 (438)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

I've been mixing for a few months and I've progressed past the basics. I'm wondering if anyone could get me some guidance as to more advanced mixing techniques etc. 30-40 sec transitions, using higher frequencies from one track and the bass from another. Any help would be much appreciated and if there is already a thread for this feel free to scrap this and show me the light. Thanks
Sabre1489
PostPosted: 12 March 2009 - 11:17:49 (512)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Just mess around, it's really all it takes. cheers
dannyjtay
PostPosted: 12 March 2009 - 20:07:43 (880)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Everyone mixes differently! It's all about practice and finding out what is most comfortable and what works the best for you. You just need to keep plugging away and as your confidence in your beatmatching ability increases, you'll feel more comfortable with performing longer transitions and with EQing more, etc. What I will say though is that you most certainly need to know your tunes inside out, so you know what is going to happen, and when it will happen, in each tune.

Also, a good way to improve is to record your mixes and listen back to them frequently so you can hear what your mixing sounds like, and can see what works and what doesn't. If you do this you will begin to notice improvements in your mixing happy
grantr
PostPosted: 08 April 2009 - 07:03:19 (335)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

learn to mix harmonically
DJ_Rafnel
PostPosted: 24 May 2009 - 11:19:55 (513)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

grantr wrote:
learn to mix harmonically

Yes...this will make your mixes sound amazing. Heres an easy cheat sheet.

G#
D#
A#
F
C
G
D
A
E
B
F#
C#