Events
Notification

Latest Topics
<  How do I dj?  |   Page 1 of 3 | Jump To >> | Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Mixing in Ableton
gFused
PostPosted: 13 August 2008 - 00:31:38 (063)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

So I made my first mix in Ableton the other day, and I gotta say, its much easier that I thought it would be. But the one thing I don't like is that my mix sounds hollow. Like something is missing. I use the 3 band vst (I'm a newbie and not sure if thats what its called) to cut and fade the bass. But when I listen to other mixes done in Ableton (like previous ASOT's) they sound so much more rich. The next track seems to blend so well with the previous track. Is there a limiting or normalizing vst / plugin that I am not using? If so which one is it? How do I use it? Should I mix the tracks down and then run the plugin? Would I be better off opening the mix in Audition and running hard limit from there?

btw, all the tracks I used were high quality (320kbps or FLAC)

I'm a total newbie with Ableton, so any help / suggestions / tips will be greatly appreciated

PostPosted: 13 August 2008 - 00:33:31 (064)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

maybe it's your soundsystem?

gFused
PostPosted: 13 August 2008 - 00:41:04 (070)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

FunkyGunther wrote:
maybe it's your soundsystem?

No because I have heard other mixes on the same speakers, and I have also burned this mix and listened to it in my car.

PostPosted: 13 August 2008 - 01:11:03 (091)  Reply with quote
Trance.nu Retired Mascot

If you by 3 band vst mean the 3 band EQ in Ableton, that's your problem. Use the 4/8 band EQ or the Auto Filter instead. The 3 band EQ colours the sound very badly.
Jezper & Tommie just launched a swedish tech podcast. Check it out: http://www.slashat.se
ken01
PostPosted: 13 August 2008 - 01:19:08 (096)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Jezper wrote: