Logged in as Guest, please register | 25 August 2019 - 17:35:10 (774) GMT 1
Users online: 0
 
 
Guests online: 110
Total online: 110
Guestbook
Guestbook
Events
Notification
Messages
Messages
 
Latest Topics
<  How do I produce?  |   Page 1 of 3 | Jump To >> | Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Best reverb plugins ? Whats the difference among them?
PlasticSoul83
PostPosted: 23 December 2008 - 03:44:55 (197)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 47.50
Posts: 6952
I read a thread in other forum asking whats is the best plugin (vst and hardware), but what could be the difference between fx plugins like reverb?
All of them will put the effect you want if you use the proper settings, in my ignorant opinion, all reverb plugins will do the same, correct me and explain it for me please if I'm wrong.

I like ableton internal reverb, some people like altiverb, etc...

nerdy

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/anthonyaquino
http://www.anthonyaquino.kinghost.net
@anthonyaquino83
Back to top
TheDigitalInsomniac
PostPosted: 23 December 2008 - 05:49:22 (284)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 38.95
Posts: 1041
PlasticSoul83 wrote:
I read a thread in other forum asking whats is the best plugin (vst and hardware), but what could be the difference between fx plugins like reverb?
All of them will put the effect you want if you use the proper settings, in my ignorant opinion, all reverb plugins will do the same, correct me and explain it for me please if I'm wrong.

I like ableton internal reverb, some people like altiverb, etc...

nerdy



it all depends on the realistic value to it. while some sound more just like really fast echoes. others tend to have more options like panning and freq tweaking.

thats in my opinion of course.. i sense a major difference in for example Fl Studio ones and Waves ones.

_________________
I'm TDI, and i'm a Techaholic. I've been KO'd by a size 2 pump. O.o....just dont piss off women with such weapons.
Back to top
TheDigitalInsomniac bleh
neon chaser
PostPosted: 23 December 2008 - 09:43:51 (447)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 15.65
Posts: 196
Artsacoustic Reverb "."

I don't use anything else because it sounds just right on everything.

It's pretty much the standard reverb for trance. It's also the reverb algorithms that ReFX Nexus uses.

It's all about character. I love the tail modulation and lushness of it.

I was quite surprised by Live's native reverb though, it's very usable but I'm sticking to AR.
Back to top
Jezper
PostPosted: 23 December 2008 - 11:14:11 (509)  Reply with quote
Trance.nu Retired Mascot

Karma: 165.55
Posts: 7162
neon chaser wrote:

It's pretty much the standard reverb for trance. It's also the reverb algorithms that ReFX Nexus uses.


Really? Because that Nexus reverb is really disgusting.
Back to top
Jezper & Tommie just launched a swedish tech podcast. Check it out: http://www.slashat.se
Djalastor
PostPosted: 23 December 2008 - 12:13:31 (551)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 46.45
Posts: 967
Jezper wrote:
neon chaser wrote:

It's pretty much the standard reverb for trance. It's also the reverb algorithms that ReFX Nexus uses.


Really? Because that Nexus reverb is really disgusting.


Lexicon reverbs. For software, Altiverb 6.
Back to top
gurrish
PostPosted: 23 December 2008 - 12:49:32 (576)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 22.25
Posts: 707
Jezper wrote:
neon chaser wrote:

It's pretty much the standard reverb for trance. It's also the reverb algorithms that ReFX Nexus uses.


Really? Because that Nexus reverb is really disgusting.


Why do you think that?

_________________
http://www.airborne-performance.com
http://myspace.com/airborneperformance
http://youtube.com/gurrish
Back to top
gurrish The updates are being installed
ramoz
PostPosted: 23 December 2008 - 12:57:36 (581)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 14.80
Posts: 267
fruity reverb cool
Back to top
neon chaser
PostPosted: 23 December 2008 - 13:02:31 (585)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 15.65
Posts: 196
Jezper - Yes! believe it or not. It's all there on the ReFX website, but like most 'built in' fx it's very limited. You don't have the control you get with the plugin. You know all this anyway up

I'm not advocating using Nexus's built-in reverb at final production stage, it's just a flavour but on some sound's it works. It is coded by Artsacoustic but isn't even close to their main plugin. The reason I say it's pretty much the standard is the shear amount of trance producers singing it's praises. Obviously it's all down to personal taste. I said what mine is, whats yours?

btw, I checked out Ableton's native reverb after watching your 'pumping lead sound' video. Great tips!


Djalastor - Totally agree about the Lex for hardware but not many people here are going to be spending 2000 Euro's + on reverb. I've got my trusty old PCM81 in the rack and I love it! but since using the AR it just sits there getting old. I wont sell it though grin2

As for Altiverb, yes if you have a mac but it runs like a dog with 1 leg on PC which is (an educated guess) what most people use here. It is nice though but for convolution reverbs I would go with SIR, it's very close IMO and FREE.
Back to top
Creative
PostPosted: 24 December 2008 - 07:34:34 (357)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 33.45
Posts: 2250
i'm using Overloud BREVERB happy

_________________
Here's how you become a great artist. First, you get miserable...
Back to top
justjabbin
PostPosted: 30 December 2008 - 05:18:52 (263)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 29.95
Posts: 277
Warmverb boobs

_________________
Best,
Avery Parker

www.averyparkermusic.com

www.myspace.com/averyparkermusic

www.twitter.com/avery_parker
Back to top
stargazer83
PostPosted: 30 December 2008 - 14:03:28 (627)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 5.80
Posts: 25
I often wondered whether producers use the effects which come with the VST instruments. Do you guys add a plugin to each and every channel?
Back to top
Creative
PostPosted: 30 December 2008 - 14:10:29 (632)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 33.45
Posts: 2250
stargazer83 wrote:
I often wondered whether producers use the effects which come with the VST instruments. Do you guys add a plugin to each and every channel?

i never use VST effects, for the simple fact that i like to use the dry sound, EQ it, then add effects like phasing, stereo image or something, then add delay and reverb

i usually make some return channels and put some reverbs, and use just one reverb on multiple sounds

_________________
Here's how you become a great artist. First, you get miserable...
Back to top
stargazer83
PostPosted: 30 December 2008 - 14:19:49 (638)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 5.80
Posts: 25
Creative wrote:
stargazer83 wrote:
I often wondered whether producers use the effects which come with the VST instruments. Do you guys add a plugin to each and every channel?

i never use VST effects, for the simple fact that i like to use the dry sound, EQ it, then add effects like phasing, stereo image or something, then add delay and reverb

i usually make some return channels and put some reverbs, and use just one reverb on multiple sounds



ahh ok, i take it you program your own synths then? Im still at the stage of using presets! :P
Back to top
Creative
PostPosted: 30 December 2008 - 14:26:33 (643)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 33.45
Posts: 2250
stargazer83 wrote:
Creative wrote:
stargazer83 wrote:
I often wondered whether producers use the effects which come with the VST instruments. Do you guys add a plugin to each and every channel?

i never use VST effects, for the simple fact that i like to use the dry sound, EQ it, then add effects like phasing, stereo image or something, then add delay and reverb

i usually make some return channels and put some reverbs, and use just one reverb on multiple sounds



ahh ok, i take it you program your own synths then? Im still at the stage of using presets! :P

well not all the synths, just leads, arps, acid loops, basslines and stuff
i'm just beginning to understand how common sounds are made happy

_________________
Here's how you become a great artist. First, you get miserable...
Back to top
stargazer83
PostPosted: 30 December 2008 - 15:14:08 (676)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 5.80
Posts: 25
yeah, the problem with using presets is you dont learn how they are made im gonna start using blank patches and working upwards but Ill take the tip and invest in some plugins aswell. I heard the oxford plugins are good, might give them a shot!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
All times are GMT + 4 Hours

View next topic
View previous topic
Page 1 of 3 | Click to jump to page >>
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
trance.nu Forum Index  |  How do I produce?

Post new topic   Reply to topic


 
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 



Powered by phpBB