Logged in as Guest, please register | 17 August 2019 - 14:12:25 (633) GMT 1
Users online: 0
 
 
Guests online: 122
Total online: 122
Guestbook
Guestbook
Events
Notification
Messages
Messages
 
Latest Topics
<  How do I produce?  |   Page 5 of 8 | Jump To >> | Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
side channel compression tutorial
Robert Frost
PostPosted: 04 May 2006 - 23:56:39 (039)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 0.00
Posts: 505
okay, here's another way.

If it has been posted before, please tell me where cause i couldn' find it.


In Reason, you can use the Matrix pattern sequencer to make sidechaining work. Really? How?

1. you add an instrument you want, set up the sound in it
2. add a Matrix - BUT - flip the backside of it and connect the Matrix' Curve CV to the instrument's Master Volume connector (or Amp level or something third)
3. while the rack's flipped, switch the curve controller on the Matrix from UNIPOLAR to BIPOLAR
4. draw this in Matrix (you can use the Shift key to make a straight line in the Matrix, just like in the automation control):

5. you can add a RV7000 effector to make some FX on the sidechain.

There you go cool

_________________
Robert Frost a.k.a. Robert Fox
http://www.tranceation.co.nr
proud member of IGNIS
leader of the O TRNC? alliance
i'm also a proud Hungarian in Croatia
Back to top
Mad Regent
PostPosted: 07 June 2006 - 19:20:07 (847)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.00
Posts: 75
Sidechaining on Reason isnt just programming a volume cut.

Heres how you sidechain on reason....

First make a redrum. put a kicksample into any channel on it. Then make some sawbass. attach a m-class compressor to the bass synth. Then press TAB and connect the left channel of the sidechain to send channel 1 on the redrum. then turn the send 1 knob on the channel that your kickdrum is on to full. After that set your compressor up so it drops the bass under the kick every time the kick is played.

If i remember correctly the compressor settings should be something like :-

Attack: 1
Release: Between 50 and 75
Ratio: about 4ish
Threshhold: depending on your bass.

These settings arnt guidelines. Its just to give people a vague idea.

You can message me if u have any questions.
Back to top
Shoma
PostPosted: 07 June 2006 - 20:49:53 (909)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 18.95
Posts: 7256
Mad Regent wrote:
Sidechaining on Reason isnt just programming a volume cut.

Heres how you sidechain on reason....

First make a redrum. put a kicksample into any channel on it. Then make some sawbass. attach a m-class compressor to the bass synth. Then press TAB and connect the left channel of the sidechain to send channel 1 on the redrum. then turn the send 1 knob on the channel that your kickdrum is on to full. After that set your compressor up so it drops the bass under the kick every time the kick is played.

If i remember correctly the compressor settings should be something like :-

Attack: 1
Release: Between 50 and 75
Ratio: about 4ish
Threshhold: depending on your bass.

These settings arnt guidelines. Its just to give people a vague idea.

You can message me if u have any questions.


thank you for your post, but this method was aleady explained by me...read the very first post thumbsup

_________________
_________________

http://www.lost.eu/3f504

My Virb
Back to top
Randor
PostPosted: 08 June 2006 - 10:03:47 (460)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 21.00
Posts: 106
If either one or both of bass/kick combination needs compression for other mixing issues than just sidechain sweeping (tighting sound apparently), its necessary to use separate compressor before sweeper one because sidechained compressor wont do anything without side signal input. That means no compression on bassline in places you haven't got kick playing. naturally you can split bass signal before compressor and feed sidechain with both kick and bass signal but result may not be good, will be hard to find suitable treshold level for both.

_________________
So far so good so....what?
http://www.ctgmusic.com/randor
Back to top
jaytranzmit
PostPosted: 22 July 2006 - 01:58:56 (124)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.00
Posts: 17
In Logic there's a few ways of doing it. This is what I have set up if I need any sidechaining.

1. Set up a dummy Bus channel with a no output setting (that is important). This is the router channel or "middle man" if you like.

2. The channel you want compressed, insert a compressor & choose the dummy bus channel as the key input for sidechaining on the plug in.

3. The last step is just to use the Aux send to the dummy bus channel on which ever is it you decide to use as the key i.e Kick.

Kick Aux send -> Bus channel -> Compressor sidechain input.




thumbsup
Back to top
TrackZero
PostPosted: 22 July 2006 - 02:20:20 (139)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.45
Posts: 19
jaytranzmit wrote:
In Logic there's a few ways of doing it. This is what I have set up if I need any sidechaining.

1. Set up a dummy Bus channel with a no output setting (that is important). This is the router channel or "middle man" if you like.

2. The channel you want compressed, insert a compressor & choose the dummy bus channel as the key input for sidechaining on the plug in.

3. The last step is just to use the Aux send to the dummy bus channel on which ever is it you decide to use as the key i.e Kick.

Kick Aux send -> Bus channel -> Compressor sidechain input.
thumbsup


Just a question.. Is there a reason you put the compressor on a bus? I ask this because sidechaining is available directly in the plugins so you can select a track it should listen to.
Back to top
jaytranzmit
PostPosted: 22 July 2006 - 13:57:05 (622)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.00
Posts: 17
No you've misread it. The compressor goes on the channel you wish to compress but you choose the key input as the Bus channel.
Back to top
TrackZero
PostPosted: 22 July 2006 - 21:28:29 (936)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.45
Posts: 19
jaytranzmit wrote:
No you've misread it. The compressor goes on the channel you wish to compress but you choose the key input as the Bus channel.

Ah ok .. my bad. Thought there was a new way to do sidechainy thingies..wink Thanks!
Back to top
jaytranzmit
PostPosted: 25 July 2006 - 04:51:56 (244)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.00
Posts: 17
thumbsup
Back to top
Spaiz
PostPosted: 15 August 2006 - 12:12:35 (550)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 0.70
Posts: 9
Nice tutorials!
Back to top
Superti
PostPosted: 13 September 2006 - 18:07:42 (797)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 0.00
Posts: 3
Hey guys, do you have a tutorial like this for logic?
Thanks grin2

_________________
Superti
www.djsuperti.com
Back to top
PlasticSoul83
PostPosted: 19 September 2006 - 16:34:18 (732)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 47.50
Posts: 6952
Superti wrote:
Hey guys, do you have a tutorial like this for logic?
Thanks grin2


welcome, mate...
energybr, rules... grin2
Back to top
spacecorn
PostPosted: 21 September 2006 - 19:20:40 (847)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 35.50
Posts: 265
Is there a difference in quality between the different ways to sidechain in Cubase?

DB Audioware dynamics processor
Waves C1
Sidekick
Slim Slow Slider
etc

Because they all use different compression algorithms, they should sound different, but which one is the best?
Back to top
Nils
PostPosted: 21 September 2006 - 20:08:19 (880)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 145.40
Posts: 6631
sidechain is sooooooooo 2005
Back to top
Nils Rest in Peace T.nu!
Shoma
PostPosted: 21 September 2006 - 22:57:00 (997)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 18.95
Posts: 7256
nils-henrik wrote:
sidechain is sooooooooo 2005


lol true

_________________
_________________

http://www.lost.eu/3f504

My Virb
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
All times are GMT + 4 Hours

View next topic
View previous topic
Page 5 of 8 | Click to jump to page >>
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
trance.nu Forum Index  |  How do I produce?

Post new topic   Reply to topic


 
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 



Powered by phpBB