Logged in as Guest, please register | 17 August 2019 - 14:52:21 (661) GMT 1
Users online: 0
 
 
Guests online: 86
Total online: 86
Guestbook
Guestbook
Events
Notification
Messages
Messages
 
Latest Topics
<  How do I produce?  |   Page 3 of 8 | Jump To >> | Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
side channel compression tutorial
reyna
PostPosted: 27 October 2005 - 05:57:32 (289)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.05
Posts: 2761
Can you pls explain the formula for use in Cubase SX3.1 as well, if you know this, that is. PLS!! happy
Back to top
MaLk
PostPosted: 29 October 2005 - 22:36:56 (983)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 0.00
Posts: 1
Thank you very much for this GREAT! tutorial ... Awesome thumbsup

_________________
http://www.soundclick.com/malkgopher
Back to top
Shoma
PostPosted: 02 November 2005 - 16:25:19 (725)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 18.95
Posts: 7256
As you maybe see, i have added something new...sidechaining with Ableton Live...and updated tutorial files..cause some of them were not working happy

happy sidechaining

_________________
_________________

http://www.lost.eu/3f504

My Virb
Back to top
wandii
PostPosted: 14 November 2005 - 12:28:09 (561)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 31.75
Posts: 366
There's an even easier way to sidechain on Fruity...

Say you have your Kicks on FX1 and a Pad you want side-chained to the Kick.

Add a Peak Controller to FX1 (your Kick FX channel), and then right click on your Pads volume knob and Link to Controller... select the Peak Controller on FX1 (+LFO etc), then select Invert of the other drop-down list and you're sorted.

Now the Pads volume is linked to the Kicks. When the Kick is playing, the volume of the Pads will "duck" under the Kicks. Fine-tune this side-chaining effect by messing with the settings on the Peak Controller.

I'll make a slightly more easy-to-follow tutorial when I get home, I'm at college atm thus can't really get all the details or screenies. Cheers! grin2

_________________
Wandii
______________
www.karanda.co.uk
www.armada-music.nl
Back to top
Shoma
PostPosted: 14 November 2005 - 13:16:13 (594)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 18.95
Posts: 7256
wandii wrote:
There's an even easier way to sidechain on Fruity...

Say you have your Kicks on FX1 and a Pad you want side-chained to the Kick.

Add a Peak Controller to FX1 (your Kick FX channel), and then right click on your Pads volume knob and Link to Controller... select the Peak Controller on FX1 (+LFO etc), then select Invert of the other drop-down list and you're sorted.

Now the Pads volume is linked to the Kicks. When the Kick is playing, the volume of the Pads will "duck" under the Kicks. Fine-tune this side-chaining effect by messing with the settings on the Peak Controller.

I'll make a slightly more easy-to-follow tutorial when I get home, I'm at college atm thus can't really get all the details or screenies. Cheers! grin2


Great, that would be cool thumbsup

_________________
_________________

http://www.lost.eu/3f504

My Virb
Back to top
lazik
PostPosted: 16 November 2005 - 03:31:51 (188)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 12.20
Posts: 36
id just like to say about transients, unless your compressor has look ahead, it may not have a fast enough attack time to turn down the initial transient of the bassline, so the first few ms of your kick may contain the first few ms of your bassline, might sound funny (But, it might sound good too). I think the best approach is the one you also noted, of manually turning down your bass on down beats/kick hits.
Back to top
Davix
PostPosted: 17 November 2005 - 15:02:51 (668)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 12.35
Posts: 33
Great! I'll try later cool
Back to top
Davix
PostPosted: 18 November 2005 - 21:03:58 (919)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 12.35
Posts: 33
It means that's the chanel (bass) is playing mono. But if I want to link to kick some kind of a synth with a stereo melody?
Back to top
Starlet
PostPosted: 22 November 2005 - 13:48:48 (617)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 0.00
Posts: 15
UNiSON wrote:
Well, it’s the truth!

Sidechain compressing is actually what compressors are meant to do. It adds room for other instruments. This technique can get a cheesy mix to sound dynamic and rhythmic! I’ve done it for years.

I use Logic Audio Platinum, and have this sidechain option inbuilt in Logic.


hey UNiSON,
I'm on Logic 7 Pro. Any chance you could give me a quick rundown of how to use the sidechain option in Logic?
Thanks thumbsup

_________________
DJ/producer/music lover!
Back to top
Idonotlikebroccoli
PostPosted: 23 November 2005 - 18:26:47 (810)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 34.90
Posts: 6640
I've been dying to know how to do this in Reason. THANKS A LOT!!! grin

_________________
Music production blog: www.rognalf.com
Music showcase: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J8T2ipY28bk
Trøndertrall EP - 15 remixes(!) & remix pack: http://trance.nu/v4/forum/viewtopic.php?t=157606
Back to top
Idonotlikebroccoli "Sama" by Ishq: Maybe my new favourite album of 2010.
nu_midia
PostPosted: 16 December 2005 - 18:13:10 (800)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 9.40
Posts: 106
Question to Shoma (Or anyone else who can answer): For the Cubase sidechaining you mentioned you had to change the group channel panner into Mono setting.... But what if you want to sidechain A pad and a kik and you want the pad to still be in stereo. It seems to me that the way you mentioned would make the pad mono. So basically I'm asking how do you sidechain in Cubase while keeping one of the sounds in stereo? I would appreciated anyone who has any ideas on this.
Back to top
DJAdde
PostPosted: 28 December 2005 - 20:45:58 (906)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 58.95
Posts: 972
Any possibility to sidechain in Reason 2?
Just a question...

_________________
House = Since V2
Back to top
tgl
PostPosted: 16 January 2006 - 23:16:36 (011)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 38.75
Posts: 16
nu_midia wrote:
Question to Shoma (Or anyone else who can answer): For the Cubase sidechaining you mentioned you had to change the group channel panner into Mono setting.... But what if you want to sidechain A pad and a kik and you want the pad to still be in stereo. It seems to me that the way you mentioned would make the pad mono. So basically I'm asking how do you sidechain in Cubase while keeping one of the sounds in stereo? I would appreciated anyone who has any ideas on this.

I did something similar in Fruity with the C1 comp-sc, and since you can't make a channel mono, I just panned it. The channel with the C1 comp-sc just needs to be panned a bit to keep the stereo channels equal.
Back to top
MDM
PostPosted: 24 January 2006 - 17:30:54 (771)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 16.05
Posts: 29
i cant get the hang of it, working with Cubase, anyone that have a project file to look at?


EDIT: few hours later... I know why It didnt work..

1. i tried to sidechain a MIDI channel
2. when i realized i must use Audio channel, i then pan it wrong haha

Working like a charm now.

_________________
Hate uplifting trance idiots!
Back to top
MDM WOHO! CD is out! :)
mjwalker
PostPosted: 08 February 2006 - 21:56:30 (955)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 0.00
Posts: 2
Thanx for the topic!!! Really helped me alot!!! grin2
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
All times are GMT + 4 Hours

View next topic
View previous topic
Page 3 of 8 | Click to jump to page >>
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
trance.nu Forum Index  |  How do I produce?

Post new topic   Reply to topic


 
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 



Powered by phpBB