Logged in as Guest, please register | 18 October 2019 - 17:19:06 (763) GMT 1
Users online: 0
 
 
Guests online: 175
Total online: 175
Guestbook
Guestbook
Events
Notification
Messages
Messages
 
Latest Topics
<  How do I produce?  |   Page 7 of 8 | Jump To >> | Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
side channel compression tutorial
hawk84
PostPosted: 03 July 2008 - 13:28:30 (603)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 0.15
Posts: 2
thx for this happy
Back to top
PeterdotB
PostPosted: 23 July 2008 - 20:15:28 (885)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 1.00
Posts: 13
Ableton Live 7 has its own Compression | Side Chain feature and its very easy to get around to.

http://www.myspace.com/peterdotb
Back to top
Electrodia
PostPosted: 26 August 2008 - 10:56:16 (497)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 2.80
Posts: 53
A big thank you for the FL Studio sidechain guide, it helped me a lot! grin2
Back to top
soundmagus
PostPosted: 10 September 2008 - 11:48:14 (533)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 19.30
Posts: 100
Hi Guys,

Check www.soundmagus.co.uk for video tutorial on using the fREE sidekick plugin for sidechaining - and there are more video tutorials there and more
to come.

Specifically for Cubase and vsts, but not exclusively.

cheers

Mark
Back to top
soundmagus http://www.cubaseguru.com
RichardClairemont
PostPosted: 17 October 2008 - 00:27:07 (060)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 66.40
Posts: 9178
I'm using the one in Logic 8 and according to the user guide and help file I have it set up right, but I can't hear that it's making any noticeable difference...I have ESX 24 playing a pretty basic bass riff, sidechained to input 1 which is my kick drum, just playing a 4x4 pattern for testing it out purposes...and i can't tell any difference between when it's on and when it's off...am i doing something wrong?
Back to top
RichardClairemont Adios amigos
RichardClairemont
PostPosted: 17 October 2008 - 00:45:33 (073)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 66.40
Posts: 9178
RichardClairemont wrote:
I'm using the one in Logic 8 and according to the user guide and help file I have it set up right, but I can't hear that it's making any noticeable difference...I have ESX 24 playing a pretty basic bass riff, sidechained to input 1 which is my kick drum, just playing a 4x4 pattern for testing it out purposes...and i can't tell any difference between when it's on and when it's off...am i doing something wrong?


Why yes dickhead you were...you didn't bother to set your Ultrabeat channel to accept the input. Fuckin newbie

grin2
Back to top
RichardClairemont Adios amigos
gesneuveldepara
PostPosted: 30 November 2008 - 21:17:27 (928)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 4.80
Posts: 50
there are no pics at the cubase tutorial again?
or might i, not know that i should use pics from another tutorial like the reason one, or fruityloops one?

i just want to know how to get the kick for sidechaining succesfully muted, i mean so that it still will give the signal to what should be sidechained, and the kick is not heared

Thnx in advance

Pasca7
Back to top
gesneuveldepara hi..
richyboy88
PostPosted: 11 January 2009 - 22:44:20 (989)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 12.80
Posts: 228
I thought that i would add a section on how to sidechaine in Sonar, the version that im using in Sonar 7.

Ill cover two methods, the one from the manual (which i have personnaly never got to work, but maybe you will have more luck happy)and the method that i use.

Method 1: Manual Method

1) In the mixer right click> insert stereo bus.

2) Add in the FX bin for this bus, and insert and instance of the sonitus: fx compressor.

3) Create a track for the trigger signal e.g. 4x4 kicks, or a closed hihat. Closed hihat is better as its shorter so you have more control of the length of time that the compressor is in operation by adjusting the release.

4) From the trigger signal audio track, create a send and choose the output of the send to be Sonitus: fx Compressor (side input).

Method 2: My Method

The only way that my method differs is that instead of using a send to output the signal to the side input of the compressor you actually set the output of the aduio track itself to the sideinput of the compressor. This has the effect of effectivaley muting the trigger singal used to which is generally required anyway.

Note: Its important that the compressor for the sidechaining is inserted on a bus not just the audio channel for what you want to sidechain. This way does work when u play the track back in you sequencer, but when u bounce the track to audio before you export a track the effect will not be applied, as you bounce the tracks individually, therefore there will be no trigger signal present during the process.

hope this helps,

Rich

_________________
Intel Q6600, 3GB DDR2 RAM, Behringer B2031A monitors, Edirol PCR- 500, Edirol UA-25, Vista home premium, XP running on my laptop
Back to top
Creative
PostPosted: 30 January 2009 - 11:04:07 (502)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 33.45
Posts: 2250
i didn't understand how to sidechain in cubase left

_________________
Here's how you become a great artist. First, you get miserable...
Back to top
dsmith39
PostPosted: 04 February 2009 - 05:14:07 (259)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 8.55
Posts: 50
RichardClairemont wrote:
RichardClairemont wrote:
I'm using the one in Logic 8 and according to the user guide and help file I have it set up right, but I can't hear that it's making any noticeable difference...I have ESX 24 playing a pretty basic bass riff, sidechained to input 1 which is my kick drum, just playing a 4x4 pattern for testing it out purposes...and i can't tell any difference between when it's on and when it's off...am i doing something wrong?


Why yes dickhead you were...you didn't bother to set your Ultrabeat channel to accept the input. Fuckin newbie

grin2


I wish answering questions were this easy all the time satisfied
Back to top
calebo
PostPosted: 02 March 2009 - 02:18:18 (137)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.75
Posts: 99
Are there any other decent free sidechain vst's?
Back to top
Gee Tee Age
PostPosted: 06 March 2009 - 13:42:37 (612)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 29.90
Posts: 2080
Im using the automation method.

_________________
Thats the reason I'm so full of myself - my music is amazing!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x3BlGVGF_LE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxUJpzX_keA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Nl0rJq6oJA
Back to top
Gee Tee Age El Gato Rapido
calebo
PostPosted: 08 March 2009 - 08:31:04 (396)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.75
Posts: 99
alright I will try to work with automation then happy thankx grin2
Back to top
Gee Tee Age
PostPosted: 08 March 2009 - 15:40:29 (694)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 29.90
Posts: 2080
my comment wasnt a reply to yours.

_________________
Thats the reason I'm so full of myself - my music is amazing!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x3BlGVGF_LE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxUJpzX_keA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Nl0rJq6oJA
Back to top
Gee Tee Age El Gato Rapido
MisterGarden
PostPosted: 15 March 2009 - 04:37:43 (234)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 6.15
Posts: 7
Great read, cheers happy
Back to top
MisterGarden is working on his new website
Display posts from previous:   
All times are GMT + 4 Hours

View next topic
View previous topic
Page 7 of 8 | Click to jump to page >>
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
trance.nu Forum Index  |  How do I produce?

Post new topic   Reply to topic


 
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 



Powered by phpBB